About ppfc

The Poultry Protein & Fat Council grew out of leadership action by the poultry rendering industry. The initial group convened as the By-Products Committee to draft recommendations to the Southeastern Poultry & Egg Association board of directors (now U.S. Poultry & Egg Association).

Nineteen representatives of poultry rendering companies met in Atlanta, Ga., on Nov. 14, 1988, to solve common problems in the poultry rendering industry and to review the results of a recently completed research project associated with supplementing cattle feed with feathermeal.

The highlight of that meeting was an "eye-opening" study on feather meal for cattle, with data showing feathermeal provided twice the protein value than that of soybean meal. The implication was that feather meal would be as equally beneficial to the dietary needs of cattle. The investment in this research has had a significant impact on the feathermeal market. Whereas feathermeal traded at a discount, on an equal protein basis to soybean meal, it now trades at a premium due to its superior nutritional value.

The renderers concluded that new market potentials should be developed and that feeding the rendered products to poultry may not be the most profitable market.

The Poultry Protein & Fat Council was formed to guide USPOULTRY in providing needed assistance. Renderers agreed that research was an urgent and vital need and have funded $2.2 million in subsequent years on numerous topics. For more information about the Poultry Protein & Fat Council, e-mail Paul Bredwell.

membership

The data and information on the "advantage" of feathermeal for renderers is just one of the many benefits of membership in the Poultry Protein & Fat Council. The council sponsors educational seminars for members and provides speakers for meetings of potential buyers such as cattle feeder groups, state feed associations, animal nutrition conferences, pet food associations, etc. Poultry Protein & Fat Council also sponsors generic advertising in feed publications for renderer members, focusing on the value of the products poultry renderers produce. In addition, the council provides educational exhibits for customer trade shows.

The volume of rendered products continues to grow. The expansion of outlets for end-product is an obvious concern of renderers. Membership in the Poultry Protein & Fat Council gives a company a "front-row seat" as the beneficiary of valuable information in all areas of research, marketing, education, environmental concerns, and image enhancement If your company is interested in joining PPFC, email Paul Bredwell.

Council Members

Acting Chairman: Kerry Courchaine

E-mail: kcourchaine@darlingii.com
Darling Ingredients

Bo Watson

E-mail: bo.watson@tyson.com
Tyson Foods, Inc.

Greg Drollinger

E-mail: greg@3dsolutions.com
3D Corporate Solutions, LLC

Michael Fairbairn

E-mail: michaelfairbairn@fieldale.com
Fieldale Farms

Duane Purvis

E-mail: dpurvis@mountaire.com
Mountaire Farms

Staff: Paul Bredwell

E-mail: pbredwell@uspoultry.org
U.S. Poultry & Egg Association

Kenny Reece

E-mail: kenny.reece@simfoods.com
Simmons Foods

Bud Kriz

E-mail: bkriz@valleyproteins.com
Valley Proteins, Inc.

Mark Glover

E-mail: Mark.Glover@pilgrims.com
Pilgrim's Corporation

Brad Allen

E-mail: ballen@fuillc.com
Central Bi-Products

Mike Karman

E-mail: mike.karman@sanimax.com
Sanimax

Committees

Technology

Chairman: Ansen Pond

E-mail: Ansen.Pond@pilgrims.com
Pilgrim's Corporation

BJ Bench

E-mail: BJ.Bench@tyson.com
Tyson Foods, Inc.

Bud Kriz

E-mail: bkriz@valleyproteins.com
Valley Proteins, Inc.

Kerry Courchaine

E-mail: kcourchaine@darlingii.com
Darling Ingredients

Jacob Swann

E-mail: jacob.swann@tyson.com
Tyson Foods, Inc.

Mike Karman

E-mail: mike.karman@sanimax.com
Sanimax

Brannon Daniels

E-mail: Brannon.Daniels@simfoods.com
Simmons Foods

Michael Peters

E-mail: mpeters@darlingii.com
Darling Ingredients

Advertising

Chairman: Laura-Jo Boynton

E-mail: lboynton@valleyproteins.com
Valley Proteins

Joshua Hatfield

E-mail: joshua.hatfield@pilgrims.com
Pilgrim's Corporation

Randy Ray

E-mail: randy.ray@darlingii.com
Darling Ingredients

Chuck Malone

E-mail: chuck.malone@tyson.com
Tyson Foods

Brooke Lane

E-mail: brooke.lane@simfoods.com
Simmons Foods

Mike Karman

E-mail: mike.karman@sanimax.com
Sanimax